2015 Professional Standards for Educational Leaders

In 2015, the National Board Policy for Educational Administration (NBPEA) approved the brand new Professional Standards for Educational Leaders to replace the ISLLC  standards for educational leadership from 2008. NBPEA recognized the need to align professional standards to the new demands of what the educational landscape has evolved into today.  The following ten standards set the bar for quality leadership and values in today’s educational administration:

  1. Mission, Vision, and Core Values
  2. Ethics and Professional Norms
  3. Equity and Cultural Responsiveness
  4. Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment
  5. Community of Care and Support for Students
  6. Professional Capacity of School Personnel
  7. Professional Community for Teachers and Staff
  8. Meaningful Engagement of Families and Community
  9. Operations and Management
  10. School Improvement


National Policy Board for Educational Administration (2015). Professional Standards for Educational Leaders 2015. Reston, VA: Author.

Print Friendly